November 9, 2011

Snowland is No(go)land

Posted in Second Life tagged , , , , , at 4:18 am by SarahAndrea Royce

Triggered by the recent fun on the Route 2 in the north of the continent Heterocera Atoll. As beautiful as this road and many of its other roads was, as disappoiting was the continent Sansara, as far as I read the first one ever to appear in the virutal world of Second Life.

I was inspired to visit it by an article in the virtual magazine (how maching ;- ) “The Second Life Builder” which pointet to an old treet.tv article about a snail rally that was held there.

The first hard thing was to find a rezzone. I tried to made my start where the road of that certain rally began and I flew over many seems without spotting a single one. Finally I used the search and came out a a rezzone in the middle of the continent. At least I could start than. And not only where the roads sterile in texture and “flow” (all straight ahead or with sharp angles). Along the way were all kind off buildings and shops and very very big advertisement signs. Actually I was more than a little renembered of the uglier roads in the USA, where I made to great roadtrips together with my mother. Avoid staying in Flaggstaff, by the way. As romantic as the Santa Fee Express, the Route 66 and Flaggstaffs mentioning in Stephen King novels may paint it.

When I entered the Snowlans, the new Hardtop of the 1957 came in Handy, and I found even three places that where nice enaugh to take a photo. Yet the only positiv thing I can say, is that the textures of the roads where somewhat nice 😉

one of the view nice spots

Frozen roads

The best photo I could take on a bridge, I really love the way the shadows work out:

Great Shadows

Its a shame that a themed roadnetwork like that what was not built with the same feeling as it was the coastal Route 2.

I searched a random youtoube video as a message to the Lindens. This is how a mountain road in winter would look like:

Leave a Reply

